Confirmed : MIC to contest nine parliamentary and 19 state seats

MIC is firm in contesting nine parliamentary and 19 state seats in the coming general election, party president Datuk Seri G. Palanivel said.The party contested the same number of seats in the 2008 general election but only managed to win three parliamentary and seven state seats. MIC won another parliamentary seat in a by-election in Hulu Selan-gor.

Palanivel said the list of candidates for the parliamentary and state seats have been finalised and submitted to Barisan Nasional chairman Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, who is also the Prime Minister.He said discussions were still ongoing on the seat allocations in Perak where the party had been offered two senatorships in exchange for two state seats.The party contested in Pasir Panjang, Hutan Melintang, Sungkai and Behrang in Perak in 2008.

Palanivel said they had swapped Sungkai with Buntong and would contest in Hutan Melintang but the discussions to swap the other two seats were still ongoing.“We are not keen in the exchange. We want to contest in all the four seats,” he said yesterday.

A senior party official said the president had raised the issue in the party’s central working committee last month which had unanimously decided that the party should contest the four seats in the state.“The members felt that the party would be under immense pressure if they were to contest in fewer seats than 2008,” he said.

Palanivel also said candidates from the Youth and Women wings would be fielded.He also dismissed talk that former MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu, who lost to PSM’s Dr Michael Jeyakumar in Sungai Siput in 2008, would re-contest.“He (Samy Vellu) has strong influence and has been appointed as a coordinator to campaign and assist the Barisan candidate there to win,” he said.

Print Friendly

This entry was posted in Mobile. Bookmark the permalink.